Rod Dixon, tenor

Rod Dixon, tenor

Asheville Symphony’s Season Finale is a Joyous Celebration of Peace & Understanding

The program opens with Copland’s inspiring and instantly recognizable “Fanfare for the Common Man.”

The Asheville Symphony will present Masterworks 6: Ode to Joy, at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium on Saturday, June 4, 2022

The program features Beethoven’s iconic Ninth Symphony complete with four soloists and the Asheville Symphony Chorus, plus Aaron Copland’s “Fanfare for the Common Man” and Joan Tower’s “Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman.”

The concert will take place at 8 p.m. under the baton of ASO Music Director Darko Butorac.

“We close our 21-22 season in celebration,” says Butorac. “With four soloists, the Asheville Symphony Chorus, and the full power of your Asheville Symphony, our Ode to Joy program features three works that capture the spirit of mankind coming together to overcome a great obstacle—a theme that rings true during any crisis.”

The program opens with Copland’s inspiring and instantly recognizable “Fanfare for the Common Man.” Copland composed the rousing piece in 1942 after the music director of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra commissioned him to write a fanfare to honor those engaged in World War II. It has since been performed at the opening of the National September 11 Memorial & Museum, for presidents and dignitaries, in major sports broadcasts, and even aboard the space shuttle Endeavor.

Next on the program is a work inspired by, and in response to, Copland’s Fanfare: Joan Tower’s “Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman, No. 1.” Tower’s “Fanfare” features similar opening themes to Copland’s and even the same instrumentation. Composed as part of the Fanfare Project and commissioned by the Houston Symphony, the Fanfare as a tribute to Copland, Tower ultimately dedicated the piece to the “Uncommon Woman,”—to women who, in her words, “take risks and who are adventurous.”

The concert finale is Beethoven’s euphoric Symphony No. 9, also called the “Choral” Symphony,” featuring the voices of the Asheville Symphony Chorus led by Chorus Music Director Dr. Michael Lancaster. Four guest vocalists will lend their talent to the performance: Christina Pier, soprano, Mikki Sodergren, alto, Rod Dixon, tenor, and Corey McKern, baritone.

The famous “Ode to Joy,” Beethoven’s music set to Friedrich Schiller’s poetry, concludes both the joyous symphony and the ASO’s 21-22 Masterworks season. In a fitting end to a season of diverse musical exploration, Beethoven’s legendary symphony celebrates our common humanity and calls for peace, understanding, and universal goodwill.

Tickets start at $25 for adults ($15 for youth) and vary based on seating area. Purchased tickets at, by calling (828) 254-7046, or at the ASO Office at 27 College Place.


Leave a Reply

6:21am8:32pm EDT
Feels like: 86°F
Wind: 10mph S
Humidity: 38%
Pressure: 29.89"Hg
UV index: 9