New Historical Fiction Adventure Book for African American Children

The Demarcus Jones series of books are layered with stories of ancient African civilizations.

The audiobook, Demarcus Jones and the Solar Calendar, is available for free.

In anticipation of the fourth book from the “Demarcus Jones” series, CJK Publishing is offering its first audio book, Demarcus Jones and the Solar Calendar, to the public for free.

Layered with stories of ancient African civilizations and diaspora world contributions, this book series delivers the rich history that helps youth understand the plight of the African diaspora in today’s social climate. The free audio book is the first offer amongst many as the publishing company begins their 21-day countdown to the release of Demarcus Jones and the Solar Calendar IV. The book is scheduled to be released October 26, 2017.

The series follows the main character, Demarcus Jones, as he uses an ancient Solar Calendar to watch events that have occurred around the world throughout time. In subsequent titles, Demarcus is joined with supporting characters to which Demarcus must determine if they are allies or enemies in their quest to experience the powers within the Solar Calendar. The books help youth understand how historical events have affected the current conditions of Africans around the world.

The books describe facts around topics such as:

  • Nat Turner
  • Queen Nzingha
  • Sara Baartman
  • Exploitation of African resources
  • American Civil War
  • Black Wall Street
  • U.S. government’s creation of black ghettos

The Demarcus Jones series author, Quineka Ragsdale, began the book series when she realized, long after traditional schooling, that there was a great deal about history that she did not know. She did not want this to be the case for her children or others.

“It’s important for children to learn our history unapologetically. We’ve done some truly amazing things that even in 2017 are still being ignored,” she said.

Ragsdale’s goal with the series is to spark interests in children (and adults) in areas such as reading, social issues, and history. Each book in the series is accompanied by an audio book to encourage young readers and non-readers alike.

The free audiobook download is available for a limited time at The other books in the series are available for sale on


Add a Comment

Comments are closed.

  • Also: